Kiwa Register

We create trust

Part-66 AML for aircraft maintenance technicians

Aircraft maintenance may only be carried out and signed off by people who are authorised to do so. In order to demonstrate their competence, maintenance technicians are required to have a licence. 

For whom?

Maintenance technicians must also comply with the European standard prescribed by the EASA and set out in the EASA Part-66 regulations (EU) No 1321/2014 Annex III.  

If you have the required Part-66 qualifications you can apply for an Aircraft Maintenance Licence (AML). 

Kiwa Register is the competent authority in the Netherlands for issuing an AML. 

An AML consists of the basic category to carry out aircraft maintenance and supplementary type ratings.  


It is possible to hold different categories (A, B1, B2, B3 and C) and type ratings on your AML.

Depending on the (sub)category of the application, you have to demonstrate an established level of knowledge of related topics. The topics and the knowledge level for each (sub)category can be found in EASA Part-66, Appendix I.

Depending on the category you apply for, you have to demonstrate a set amount of years of experience. The amount of experience depends on the category but also on the attended training courses and certificates you hold. The demonstrated experience has to have been obtained recently and has to have relevance for the category you apply for.

Further information can be found in the EASA Part-66 and in the online handbook Part-66 AML on the right side of this webpage.   


To apply for an AML you can use the application form on the right side of this webpage. 

You can e-mail your application but if your original Part-66 AML is required you have to send your application by post.

Related products